Why Documents of Protection Can Help Same-Sex Couples: If These Walls Could Talk 2

I was talking with a lesbian couple in my office a few weeks ago and they were contemplating getting married. As you all know, Connecticut is one of those wonderfully progressive states with respect to gay and lesbian rights … and our legislature saw fit to respect the rights of same-sex couples by legalizing same-sex marriage. (Connecticut previously legalized civil union in 2005).

We were discussing the rights and protections that marriage could offer them in this State … and the awful reality that their marriage would not be recognized in all 50 states, nor by the federal government, nor by all countries in the world. We also spoke of documents of protection that lesbian and gay couples should consider. As the conversation continued, I recalled the movie, If These Walls Could Talk 2 (HBO). The movie is divided into 3 segments, spanning a couple of decades.

In the first segment, set in 1961, two women who have shared a long and loving relationship as a committed couple are unable to enjoy that relationship publicly. They share a home together (owned by only one of the women), they share the mortgage payments, they share the bills, they share a life. Everything goes along well until … well .. rather than spoil it for you, I’ll invite you to view the segment.

Tissues are strongly recommended.

To purchase the entire movie on DVD (all 3 segments), click here.  Yes, it’s also available on Netflix.

[I do NOT receive financial compensation for your purchase].

One comment on “Why Documents of Protection Can Help Same-Sex Couples: If These Walls Could Talk 2

  1. Sandy says:

    I just found your blog tonight and I have to say that I love it. You were so right about needing a box of tissues to watch this movie. I watched it myself and then had to watch it again with my partner. I cried both times. We live in Michigan. I hope the legal documents you described are available for us in this state. I think we need them after watching this.

Leave a Reply

