Same-Sex Relationship Recognition Laws

As a Connecticut lawyer, one of the most frequent questions I am asked by gay and lesbian callers (or e-mailers) is what are my rights in _____________(fill in the  state)?  In Connecticut, for example, gays and lesbians have the right to marry.  Connecticut will also marry same-sex couples from other states (but remember that you can’t later obtain a divorce in Connecticut unless one of you has lived in this state for 12 months before the divorce).

At this moment, gay marriage is also available in the District of Columbia, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont.  Which states offer civil unions or domestic partnerships?  (There are currently 6).  Which states recognize the out-of-state marriages of gay and lesbian couples?  (There are 3).  Which states have constitutional amendments barring same-sex marriages?  (At present, 30).  Which states ban gay marriage by statute? (There are currently 10).

For a detailed fact sheet that will answer the above questions specifically (as well as others), download Summary of State Laws Regarding Same-Sex Couples published by the National Center for Lesbian Rights.


Disclaimer: The information, comments and links posted on the blog do not constitute legal advice. I will not respond to any specific legal questions in the comments section of this blog. Read my entire disclaimer.

copyright 2011 Irene C. Olszewski


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s