Snow Days and GLBT News

Storm Benedict seems to have finally let up after something like 16 hours of dumping snow on us.  I’m stuck at home today and as I posted on my other blog, there’s not much I can do about it.  Instead of worrying about the work that’s piling up on my desk, I spent the afternoon catching up on LGBT news.

For instance, did you know that the Halton Catholic School Board in Ontario has banned gay-straight alliances in its schools.  Board members were actually quoted as saying that gay-straight alliances are “morally wrong” and “youth groups for LGBT people are nothing more than sex clubs.”  If you follow the above link to that article, you’ll be able to sign Change.org’s  “Tell the Halton Catholic District School Board to lift ban on Gay-Straight Alliances” petition.

Moving right along … Chicago’s Cardinal Francis George had some words of wisdom for students at Boston College. According to an article in the Huffington Post:

George told student John Falcone his “argument was not with Mother Church but with Mother Nature,” adding that anyone who advocates same-sex marriage or its equivalent “has lost touch with the common understanding of the human race.”

I guess I’ve lost touch with the human race. I’m glad I cleared that up.

It gets better. Pam’s House Blend reports that North Carolina’s legislature is now under GOP control. We all know what that means for GLBT citizens. Rep. Larry Brown is pushing legislation to cut funding for adults living with HIV. As he so eloquently put it:

“I’m not opposed to helping a child born with HIV or something, but I don’t condone spending taxpayers’ money to help people living in perverted lifestyles.”

Perverted lifestyles? I guess I just learned something new. See? It pays to read.

Now that we’ve gotten through the ignorant, bigoted, crazy stuff going on around us, I’m pleased as punch to report that Maryland is setting the stage to become the 6th state in the country to recognize same-sex marriage! Yippee! Bring on the wedding bells! Okay, not yet …

Democrats believe they have mustered up enough votes to pass the legislation … so much so that the Republicans are scared. They’ve countered with a law proposing the legalization of civil unions for those gay people. According to CNN, Maryland’s Democratic Gov. Martin O’Malley has publicly stated that he would sign a marriage bill into law.

I like blog posts with happy endings. Cheers!

 

 

 

Disclaimer:  The information, comments and links posted on the blog do not constitute legal advice.   I will not respond to any specific legal questions in the comments section of this blog. Read my entire disclaimer.

copyright 2011 Irene C. Olszewski

3 comments on “Snow Days and GLBT News

  1. Erin says:

    Sometimes I just shake my head in disbelief. I read the stuff you post and wonder when it’s going to stop. I can’t even believe an elected official like Larry Brown would say something so utterly stupid and insensitive. And for that school board to say that a gay/straight alliance is a sex club? You have to be kidding. I’m not nearly as shocked at the Cardinal’s comments. Hey, it’s the church, right? Well, at least Maryland is on the right track. I wonder how long it will take for someone to get a referendum on the ballot to block gay marriage. What a world.

    • Irene C. Olszewski, Esq. says:

      What a world, indeed. I often shake my head in disbelief, too. Erin. Fortunately, the world is changing. Keep your chin up and don’t stop trying to make changes. The only way to change the world is to educate the people on issues they might not yet understand.

  2. sudo says:

    Nice post, thank you!

Leave a comment